Pet Sematary Review

img_2256Title: Pet Sematary

Author: Stephen King

Length: 395

Published: November 1983

Series: Stand Alone

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Don’t go beyond, no matter how much you feel you need to, Doctor. The barrier was not made to be broken.” 

Life is good for Louis Creed if a bit hectic. He just took a job as the medical director at  the university of Maine, moving  him his wife Rachel their two kids Ellie and Gage and Ellie’s cat Church to the small town of Ludlow Maine. He takes to his new neighbor Jud Crandall right away. Having lost his own father at the age of three, the older Jud sort of becomes the father that Louis never had. Right away Jud warns Louis about the road that runs between their houses and it doesn’t take long to see why. Tractor trailers speed up and down the road at all hours coming and going to The Orinoco Fertilizer company. A couple of weeks later after the Creeds had settled in their new house Jud shows them where the small path behind their house leads to. An old pet cemetery which has been used by neighborhood children for almost a hundred years. This trip stirs in Ellie later that night a realization that her beloved cat Church is not immortal and will some day die. It also brings back memories for Rachel about her sister Zelda who died at an early age.

Cut to the first day of classes at university at Louis has almost forgotten the episode about the pet cemetery until a student who was fatally struck by a car is bought into the university infirmary. Louis tries all he can to save his life but it is in Vain, but before he dies the student gives him a dire warning “Don’t go beyond, no matter how much you feel you need to, Doctor. The barrier was not made to be broken.”  Louis just takes it as the rambling of a man on deaths door. That is until the night Ellie’s cat is run down in the road. Thankfully his wife and children are out of town. Jud takes Louis to bury the cat at an ancient Indian burial ground beyond the pet cemetery. Louis doesn’t understand why Church needs to be buried here so far from the pet cemetery until the next night when Church returns, but Church is not the same he seems clumsier and uncat like and smells like the grave. But Louis learns to live with the new Church and keeps the deed that he has done to himself and tries to forget The cemetery beyond the pet cemetery. That is until the day that his  youngest child Gage is killed by one of the trucks speeding up the road. Now all that Louis can think about is taking one more trip up to the ancient burial ground.

My Thoughts:

I love this book, it’s so spooky and scary its the stuff that keeps you up at night. It’s a King classic right up there with The Stand and It. I first read this book in the late 80’s as a teenager and I haven’t read it again till now almost 30 years later as a father of three and its takes on a whole new meaning and I thought it was scary back then. This time around I was able to sympathize with Louis. Who wouldn’t do what he does to bring your child back? I was able to get through this since my kids are older but I couldn’t imagine reading this one when they were younger. This is one of those books were the story and events in the book stay fresh in your mind for years to come. The original 1989 movie is also pretty good I haven’t seen the 2019 film yet so I cant speak of it but the late great Fred Gwynne (also famous for playing Herman Munster on the tv show The Munsters” is the perfect Jud Crandall and its his voice that I heard while reading Jud Crandall parts. Also Rachel’s sister Zelda is so scary in the movie. I remember having nightmares about this. Now I haven’t seen that movie since it was released in 89 so I’m not sure how well it holds up. But the book is King at his best and should be read and reread. Excellent book.

#PetSematary #StephenKing #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading #booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

Weekly Reading Update 03/22/20

img_1388What a week it’s been. I’ve been waiting so anxiously for spring to arrive but now to tell the truth with all that is happening I didn’t even realize it was the first day of spring till my daughter reminded me. I’m trying to be upbeat but this Corona virus stuff is getting to be. I’m still at work since I work in news I’m considered essential but work has changed drastically. We all keep to ourselves practicing Social Distancing. The reporter that I work with most of the time was exposed to the virus at a funeral and while she hasn’t shown symptoms, she is self quarantining at home. While we chat on the phone everyday it’s not the same. You don’t realize how much you miss being close to other people. And the newsroom which is always loud is now very quiet, most of us are working in the field. So it is very empty. I haven’t seen or done much that doesn’t have to do with news. With that being said I will be taking this week off to stay with my daughter and I rented a dumpster to do some spring cleaning. One bit of news that I heard which I thought was awesome was the casting of Rosario Dawson as Ahsoka Tano for the second season of The Mandalorian. I can’t wait to see this upcoming season. On the reading end of things, I finished reading Pet Sematary and will be posting a review in the near future. I began reading The Dragonbone Chair this week I feel like I need a really good epic fantasy to lose myself in. But I need to admit this book is a little intimidating It’s about 800 pages long and the print is very small. I’m sixty pages in and I’m finding it very slow so far. It has yet to capture me, but hopefully that will happen soon. That’s all I got for this week. Stay safe and hopefully things will start to get back to normal soon.

#CoronaVirus #RosarioDawson #AhsokaTano #TheMandolorian #PetSematary #TheDragonBoneChair #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading #booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

Weekly Reading Update

img_1388It seems that we live in a different world since the last time I posted. There is a travel ban, people are self quarantining at home, schools are closed and people are avoiding public places. As I’ve stated before on this blog, I work as a video journalist what people call the media. We get a lot of gripe from people saying we are fear mongers and that we are blowing it out of proportion. People don’t realize how difficult this time is for us. We still have to go out and do our jobs. Now more than ever we need to inform people. What people don’t understand is that we are just as scared as you. We also have families that we worry about and want to protect. I’ve always loved the hussle and bussle of the newsroom it’s always been so exciting for me. Lately its been very subdued and I can see that my coworkers are scared. On the positive my job seems to be on top of this stuff they are keeping us informed on what they are doing to protect us and are planning deep cleanings this week. I’ve also been given the option to stay at home with my daughter since she will be home for two weeks. I am taking that option and staying home with her next week. I will be finishing up some projects before I leave and than staying home. Rant done. Thank you for listening.

On to things I like. Lost in Space has been renewed for a third and final season. I’m glad to see we are getting another season I’m also happy they have an end. I feel it could get really boring after a while. You can only be lost for so long. If you can’t find your home after three seasons you just find a new home. Also we saw the end of The Outsider and I found it to be pretty good. Some clues were left to a possible 2nd season. I am totally for a second season.

On the book end I finished Star Wars: Canto Bight and I posted a Review yesterday. Right now I am about half way through Stephen King’s Pet Sematary. Next on my list is The Dragonbone Chair by Tad Williams. I’m really looking forward to this one. I need a really good fantasy to escape into for a little while. That’s all I have this week. Please stay safe and stay healthy.

#CoronaVirus #LostInSpace #TheOutsider #StarWars #CantoBight #StephenKing #PetSematary #TadWilliams #TheDragonboneChair #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading #booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

 

 

Canto Bight Review

img_2238Title: Canto Bight

Author: Various Authors

Length: 378 Pages

Published: December 2017

Series: Stand alone in Star Wars expanded universe

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

A series of four novellas all taking place in Canto Bight, the casino planet featured in The Last Jedi. Four authors some I’ve never heard of before and some that I have each tell a story that for the most show the underbelly of the glitz and glamour. Rules of the Game by Saladin Ahmed known for Throne of the Crescent Moon, tells a tale of a businessman who wins a company trip to Canto Bight but right away is taken advantage of by the seedy residence of Canto Bight. Rae Carson also the writer of The Rise of Skywalker novelization pens Hear Nothing, See Nothing, Say Nothing about a masseur in one of the best known spas in Canto Bight who must pull off an elaborate rescue after his daughter is taken by one of the top gangsters in the city trying to get the masseur to cooperate and work for him. The Wine in Dreams by Mira Grant of Feed fame is about a wine seller who is trying to precure a very rare wine that might be from another galaxy but their are others who are trying to acquire the same wine for their clients. And The Ride by John Jackson Miller writer of Kenobi and A New Dawn about a professional gambler who is trying to make a big score till he runs into three brothers who might take it all away or give him more than he can even dream about.

My Thoughts:

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I’m not a fan of anthologies and I only read them if it is necessary and since I’m trying to read all the new canon novels for Star Wars I had to read this one. It wasn’t too bad. I found most of the stories entertaining. Instead of giving each story an individual rating I’ll just put them in order from Least favorite to most favorite. So without further ado:

The Wine in Dreams

The Ride

Rules of the Game

Hear Nothing, See Nothing, Say Nothing

That’s pretty much all I have to say about the book. It was entertaining but at times difficult to get through for me.

#StarWars #CantoBight #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading #booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

Weekly Reading Update 03/01/2020

img_1388March is finally here and I’m getting anxious looking forward to warmer weather and reading outside with a cold beverage. While we are not quiet there yet there is still plenty of books to read while keeping warm wrapped in a blanket. Last Monday we finally got to see what Star Wars Project Luminous was all about. In a nutshell it’s a new project by Lucaspublishing, that means novel, junior novels and comics all taking place about 200 years before the Skywalker Saga. A bunch of well know Star Wars authors like Daniel José Oder and Claudia Grey. We get to see the Jedi at the peek of there power. Expect to see these books hit the stands around August the first is by Claudia Grey and is titled Star Wars: The High Republic Into the Dark. So Lucaspublishing or Ms. Grey if you need some advance readers to review and blog your books I’m available. Also I don’t like posting rumors I’d rather wait till we get official word from the companies involved but this one has been making the rounds around the internets and I find it interesting and exciting. Rumor has it that former Superman and current Witcher actor Henry Cavill might be taking the role of Wolverine. Now nothing has been announced officially yet, but I think that Cavill would make a great Wolverine. We will just have to see how things go, Ill post more as it becomes available. I also began watching The War of the Worlds on Epix and it wasn’t have bad. We don’t get the heavy CG destruction of the world as we did in the 2005 movie. The aliens are able to wipe out most of civilization without to much destruction and it just gives the show an eerie feeling as the survivors roam the streets with dead bodies laying all around. So far two episodes have aired and the third will be airing tonight.

Now onto reading. I finished the excellent novel Along The Razor’s Edge by Rob J. Hayes. It was such a fun read, and by review for it can be found here. It is super cheap right now on Kindle, only $2.99. well worth it. I’m currently reading Star Wars: Canto Bight by various authors. It’s split into four stories all taking place on the casino planet featured in The Last Jedi. I’ve read the first of the four and it was really good. The second story hasn’t really grabbed me yet, but I’ll see how that one ends before I give it my final verdict. Well that’s all for this week. Have a good week everyone.

#StarWars #TheHighRepublic #Lucaspublishing #HenryCavill #Wolverine #WarOfTheWorlds #Epix #AlongTheRazorsEdge #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading#booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

Along The Razor’s Edge R

img_1713Title: Along The Razor’s Edge

Author: Rob J. Hayes

Length: 281 pages

Published: March 2020

Series: The War Eternal #1

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I’d like to thank the author who sent me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. At the start of the story the war between the Orran and Terrelan Empire’s is coming to a close. The Terrelans have defeated the Orrans and the last two Orran Sourcerer are the last two to give up. Eskara Helsene is ready to keep fighting till her last breathe. Her best friend since childhood Josef begs her to surrender instead of dying for a lost cause. It’s not till Josef knocks her out (the first betrayal) that she is captured and taken to the pit. A prison buried deep underground surrounded by thieves and murderers. Prisoners spend their days digging and being tormented by evil foreman that enjoy nothing more than beating prisoners into submission. Their evenings are spent either gambling what little they have or fighting to gain notoriety or death. Eskara’s refusal to accept her faith has made her a target of Prig the heinous foreman in charge of her group. Eskara must decide who to trust as she navigates her survival daily, all the while trying to figure out a way to escape a prison which no one has escaped from.

My Thoughts:

I don’t really like to give to much of the story when I write my little synopsis. But I knew that I was going to enjoy this one from the opening scene. It starts with a whole lot of action. By the end of the first chapter you know enough about the protagonist to be hooked on her journey but there is still enough mystery as to not give to much of the story away. Its told in the first person from Eskara’s point of view and it’s told in the past tense. I got the sense that a lot of time had passed sits the events in the story happened. The Eskara that is telling the story is much older and wiser than the Eskara that is going through the story, and there is a lot of foreshadowing so you get the feel that the Eskara telling the story has seen some shit. It got me excited to see what will happen in the upcoming novels. The magic system is really cool. The magic is called sources and they have to be swallowed to be used but the must be regurgitated after a while or they will kill the user. And not just anyone can use this magic. The users body must accumulate to the source and it is rare for sourcers to be able to use a number of sources. I think it keeps the power levels of the sources from being too powerful. I don’t want to give to much away but it’s definitely worth checking out. I can’t wait to see where this story is going. And last but not least the cover art is great, it caught my eye right away. My favorite read so far this year.

#AlongTheRazorsEdge #RobJHayes #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading#booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

 

Weekly Reading Update 02/23/2020

img_1388This is the last update for February and as of this writing only 25 days till spring and it is currently 52 degrees here in the Northeast. Somethings did happen this week. First more clips from the set of The Matrix 4 showing Keanu Reeves on the back of a motorcycle driven by Carrie-Anne Moss. I am so looking foward to this movie, hoping in can erase the memories of Matrix 2 & 3. Also set photos of The Batman at first I thought these were pics of a deleted scene from Justice League since it looked like Affleck in the costume. In Star Wars news, this Monday there is suppose to be an announcement about “Project Luminous”. What is “Project Luminous”? I have absolutely no idea, not in the slightest. So I’ll be paying attention to that news and possible have more info next week. One thing that has me worried is the reports coming out of DC comics and their new 5G reboot. Apparently 5G stands for Fifth Generation and is suppose to be a reboot of DC’s major characters like Superman and The Batman. That’s fine this kind of stuff has happened before and for the most part if people don’t like it it usually goes back to normal. What has me worried is the news that if it doesn’t work AT&T who I guess own Warner Bros. and so own DC comics have said that they will be shutting down publication of DC comics. I also heard that the books will cost 7.99 each. I haven’t bought comics in a long time and it’s mostly cause I quiet frankly can’t afford them. This is worrisome DC started the modern superhero over 80 years ago and while I know the characters will live on on television and movies this news makes me incredibly sad. But enough of that on a happier note there is a new Baby Yoda toy coming soon and it is glorious and I need one. At about $60.00 dollars these things will fly of the shelf. Now for books I got a couple in the mail this week, they are coming up soon on my TBR pile so I made a small purchase from Amazon.img_1762And with that I end this weeks “Weekly Reading Update”. I hope everyone has a great week.

#DCComics #5thGeneration #TheMatrix4 #TheBatman #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading#booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

Parasites Review

img_1720Title: Parasites

Author: Matthew Samuels

Length: 416 pages

Published: October 2019

Series: First in what I believe will be a series

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I received a copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review. I’m not sure if us as book bloggers and reviewers are obligated to say that or if it’s an unwritten rule. But now that I’ve gotten that out of the way I can get on to the important stuff. The world of Lyra is almost at the end of it’s life cycle. With resources running low the scientist of Lyra are busy trying to find a way to save their world. A way to travel to different universes is soon discovered using “Thinnings” a type of portal that can transport a crew and their “car” to many different worlds. Soon explores from Lyra begin exploring these other worlds looking for resources that can prolong the life of their planet. Alessia and Kael are two such explores. While on an expedition they run across a message from another intelligent species that had to abandon their world. This seems to be the same race that Alessia’s father tried to locate two years before, never to be heard from again. Allessia and Kael decide to follow these clues. Along with their friend Basteel to provided the muscle, they embark on what might be their most important journey. One that could lead to an intelligent species that can help their dying planet, or they can come to an untimely end. All the while Allesia is hoping against hope to perhaps find some clue of what happened to her father.

My Thoughts:

 I was pleasantly surprised when opening the package I received this book in to find a card enclosed within from the author thanking me for taking the time to read his book. Right away I was filled with a liking and respect for Mr. Matthew Samuels. I thought the cover art was very beautiful and loved feeling the book in my hands. It seems to have been printed on a heavier paper stock than usual and just feels sturdier and heavy in a good way. I loved the characters of Allesia and Kael, we are introduced to them at the start of the story and at first I thought they were brother and sister. When I realized they weren’t I figured they would have a romantic connection. While the both of them share a deep bond there is no romance between them. I like that, I thought them being attracted to each other would be a little cliche. Not saying the possibility wasn’t there for a relationship in the future, but for the time being they are all business.

I’m sometimes put off by science fiction stories that use hard science, if it’s too techy I find them hard to follow and feel stupid. But even though the technology used to travel through the “Thinnys” and the vehicle and hardware that is needed to survive in this world are very “hard science” it’s very well explained and at no time hard to understand. The worlds that are visited are very well described and feel real. I also found all the characters very relatable. I really enjoyed the story and look forward to a continuation. I believe fans of Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets and Lost in Space will enjoy this book.

#LostInSpace #ValerianAndTheCityOfAThousandPlanets #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading#booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

Saving Blue Umbrella Books

img_1684-1The name in itself is an Easter Egg, an homage to the patron saint of the store Stephen King. If you’ve read Mr. Mercedes you’ll recognize that the name of the store is a nod to Under Debbie’s Blue Umbrella, a message board used by the antagonist to terrorize his victims. I’m sad to say that me a Stephen King fan did not get that reference right away. The store is located in the heart of downtown Westfield Massachusetts and as owner Russell Atwood would rather say “they sell previously read books”. I’ve gone in a few times and have always found it pleasant and cozy. They have a cute children’s section with a huge tree growing in the middle of it. And the cost of books could not be beat on the day I was there doing a story for work they had a buy one get one free sale. I purchased a hardcover copy of Nightmares & Dreamscapes and The TommyKnockers for a mere $7.99. img_1710Regardless of the great deals they have to offer the store is in danger of closing its doors. High rent, online shopping and big franchise bookstores have made it a struggle to remain afloat for this little bookstore. Atwood has done many events to bring patrons into the store from book clubs to weekly ghost story events. At any given week there is something interesting to be found (on the day I was there to shoot my story they were setting up for a glass blowing event). It would be a great shame if this store is forced to close its doors. There is a feeling that I can’t describe that you get from browsing they’re huge collection of books that you can’t get from a big box bookstore, an almost personal and private experience. Also they have the coolest bathroom. The walls are covered in Stephen King book covers, and I mean covered from floor to ceiling without any repeats.img_1683It was the first time I ever wanted to photograph a bathroom. That being said if you ever find yourself in Westfield Massachusetts or anywhere in Western Massachusetts look them up. It’s easy to get to and the owner will be happy you stopped by. If you aren’t in the area but you would like to help this small shop remain open you can help by checking out they’re Gofundme page. I’ve also added the link to the story I did with them for the local news.

#BlueUmbrellaBooks #StephenKing #UnderDebbiesBlueUmbrella #Bookstore #GoFundMe #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading#booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre

Weekly Reading Update 02/16/2020

img_1388We are halfway through February and only thirty two days away from spring time. I can’t really complain, the winter here in the Northeast has not been that bad this year. If you can’t tell from the majority of my reading updates I’m not a fan of wintertime. I love spring and fall but hate the winter. My wife and I have actually considered moving someplace with a better climate. But enough of that, here are the things that caught my interest.

First up a clip of the new Batman suit featuring Robert Patterson made its way around the internet. It’s still early and not much can be seen of the details of the suit but it looks more simple and streamlined to me. I really can’t wait to see a trailer for this. I think a younger inexperienced Batman is just what the franchise needs. I have my hopes up for this.

Second up, and I didn’t know we were getting this this soon was a teaser trailer for Stranger Things 4. I was driving when my coworker got the notification. We immediately pulled the car over to see it. One major spoiler is that Hooper is still alive, but come on did we really think he was dead? My only complaint was that I was hoping for a release date no matter how far away it might be.

And last for movies and TV was a trailer for a movie I heard nothing about The Green Knight starring Dev Patel. Not much to say about this trailer but it has me intrigued and I’ll be keeping my eyes and ears open for more updates on this one.

Now on to reading. I finished Parasites by Matthew Samuel, I enjoyed it and will be writing a review in the next couple of days. I started reading Along The Razor’s Edge by Rob J. Hayes and I’m enjoying it so far. It’s still early but I think this will be one that I read quickly.

Now for something a little different. I make a living as a video journalist for a local ABC affiliate. So basically I go out daily with a reporter and we put a story together to air that evening on the local news. That said there is a local second hand book store that I visit from time to time when I have a chance, I also follow them on Facebook. I knew they were having trouble staying open and were doing unique things to remain open, silent auctions, book clubs and weekly ghost story clubs. I talked with the owner and asked if he thought that local news coverage would help? He said it couldn’t hurt so on Thursday my reporter and I visited Blue Umbrella Books in Westfield Massachusetts.

I’ll be posting a little bit more about them this week and a link to our story. So look for it in the next day or so. That’s all for today. Hope everyone has a great week.

#Batman #StrangerThings4 #TheGreenKnight #Parasites #MatthewSamuels #AlongTheRazorsEdge #RobJHayes #BlueUmbrellaBooks #bookblogger #booklover #bookworm #bookish #books #bibliophile #booknerd #bookaddict #book #bookphotography #bookaholic #reading#booklove #bookblog #bookreview #blogger #bookshelf #read #reader #booksbooksbooks #amreading #bookcommunity #bhfyp #horror #sciencefiction #fantasy #genre