Sunday Reading Update 02/18/2018

I woke up to snow this morning here in New England, a perfect excuse to stay in and read. To tell the truth I’m getting sick of this weather. I’m looking forward to warm sunny days spent in the backyard with a cool beverage and the smell of meat cooking on the barbecue. But back to reality. I finished Richard Matheson’s I am Legend. I ended up giving it 3 stars. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I was hoping. My review is up and you can read it here if you are interested. I’m still reading The Stand by Stephen King. I’m only at the 16% mark. This book is a long one and with the way I read, (reading one chapter then going to second book and reading a chapter before returning) a will probably pass this one with my new book. Speaking of new book, the one that I’ve started is Chuck Wendig’s Aftermath: Life Debt. It’s the second in the series and while I’m only on the third chapter its all ready has an action packed start. What else happened on the book front? I’ve always been interested in reading The Expanse series and the first book Leviathan Awakes was on sale so I purchased that. In T.V. Land I’ve finished Marvel’s Runaways. I thought it had a strong start but I felt that the season finally was a little slow. Still good, so I’ll keep watching for the time being. I’m also trying to get back into the X-Files from the very beginning. I watched the first three episodes last night and I’ll keep an update here on the Sunday Reading Updates. That’s all for this week. Looking forward to temps in the 60’s mid week. Enjoy the week ahead.

#read #books #scifi #sciencefiction #fantasy #horror #reviews #genre #genrebookreviews #Richardmatheson #iamlegend #thestand #stephenking #chuckwendig #aftermath:lifedebt #starwars #theexpanse #leviathanawakes #Marvel #Runaways #x-files #sundayreadingupdate

Advertisements

I Am Legend Review

I Am Legend

By: Richard Matheson

Length: 160 pages

Date Read: February 2018

Series: Stand Alone

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Robert Neville is the last man alive. A plague has turned every last man, woman and child into a vampire like creature. Leaving Neville no choice then to barricade himself in his home every night. He spends his days killing the creatures and looking for reasons why this has happened and maybe a possible cure.

My Thoughts:

Whenever I read a book I almost immediately know how many stars I’m going to give it. This book almost 24 hours after reading and I was still on the fence about how many stars to give it. I finally settled on three stars. This book has been around for a long time, I’ve known about it even before the movie came out. And while I can’t remember too much about the movie I do know that it and the book are vastly different. There was some great actions scenes but I found the majority of the book spent time with Neville barricaded in his home Drinking. There was too much self loathing. Neville seemed very horny at the beginning of the book and I was worried that the book was going to go to a weird place. And the vampires were weird. I took them for mindless zombies at first. But some could talk. Neville at one point describes two. Types, the live ones and the dead ones. I guess the difference are ones who contracted the diseases and became vampires and those that died and became more of a mindless type of vampire. The book is very short only about 160 pages so I was able to breeze through it and I thought the end was pretty good, it made the title make sense. While I wasn’t crazy about it, I can appreciate it for the classic novel that its become and I’m glad I read it. I curious to know what others thought of this book. Let me know.

#read #books #scifi #sciencefiction #fantasy #horror #reviews #genre #genrebookreviews #iamlegend #richardmatheson #robertneville #vampire #3stars

Sunday Reading Update 02/11/2018

This one will be short. Today we will be celebrating my daughters birthday and I need to get things rolling soon. This week I was able to finish American Gods and put up a review for it. This was my second time reading it and I enjoyed it more this time. I’m currently Reading I Am Legend by Richard Matheson (45%) and Stephen King’s, The Stand (7%). I also saw the Cloverfield Trilogy. I’ve seen the first one numerous times and always enjoyed it. I saw 10 Cloverfield Lane for the first tome and thought it was great. Then I saw The Cloverfield Paradox I was real excited for this after seeing the trailer during the Super Bowl. I thought it was great that it was available almost right away. But I heard a lot of bad things about it online. Now stuff like that doesn’t stop me from watching a movie I like to form my own opinions, and after watching it I thought it was pretty good. Not as good as the first two, but enjoyable none the less. Also began watching The Mummy and I can see why this one flopped at the box office. I’m not a hard critic of movies I find I’m easy to please. But this movie I couldn’t tell if it was horror, action or a comedy. You can do all three in a movie and it can be great but it didn’t work her. The humor came off really dry. I still have about 10% left and I will probably finish it tonight. That’s all for this week. Enjoy everybody.

#read #books #scifi #fantasy #horror #reviews #genre #iamlegend #richardmatheson #stephenking #thestand #cloverfield #10cloverfieldlane #thecloverfieldparadox #themummy #sundayreadingupdate #currentlyreading #americangods

American Gods Review

American Gods

By: Neil Gaiman

Length: 635 pages

Date Read: February 2018

Series: Stand Alone (But I guess there is sort of a sequel)

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Where to begin with this book? I read it years ago and it wasn’t that I didn’t like it. At the time it was just to weird for me. For some reason I got the urge to read Anansi Boys which is sort of a sequel to this, and I thought it would be a good idea to reread this. I’m happy I did, an older wiser me enjoyed this book a little more. The book starts off with our protagonist Shadow about to finish a three year stint in jail. Shadow has plans to return home to his wife Laura. But three days before his release Laura is killed in a car accident. On the flight home he meets a man by the name of Wednesday who offers Shadow a job. Shadow reluctantly accepts the job and sets of on an adventure that will change his life. He’ll meet Gods living in a tenement in Chicago. Younger Gods that want him dead. And frequent visits from his dead wife. He’ll embark on a journey across The United States, all leading to a climactic battle that can change the world.

My Thoughts:

This book is weird, and it took me two reads to really appreciate it. We live in a land where the majority of it’s residents had ancestors who migrated here centuries ago. All of them bringing their beliefs and legends with them. But most of these legends come from the lands where they were created. What happens when the people who believe these stories leave their homeland? The Gods and creatures come with them, but when the people who brought them stop believing in them they run the risk of dying and have to find a way to get new followers and believers. I really liked how at the end of almost every chapter you would get a side story explaining how these beliefs and customs made it to the New World. A book with those stories alone would be incredibly interesting. I also felt like I was reading two different stories. One about the old Gods vs. the new Gods and another about Shadow’s life in the small town of Lakeside. But both stories come together nicely before the book ends. My final thoughts? I had dismissed this book as a miss for me. I’m glad I decided to revisit it once again. Very enjoyable.

#read #books #scifi #fantasy #horror #reviews #genre #americangods #neilgaiman #anansiboys #shadow #wednesday #newworld

Sunday Reading Update 02/04/2018

Happy Sunday everyone. Nothing exciting to report this week. Just waiting for the weather to warm up. On the reading end I finished reading Brothers Majere and I already posted a review. I’m not letting myself start another book until I write my review which inspires me to write a review right away. I was able to begin I Am Legend last night. So far I’m finding it very different from the movie. I should be finished with American Gods by the time a post my next Sunday Reading Update.

In other news I recently got an email from Amazon telling me about an update on a book that I bought a while back. The book was Timebound by Rysa Walker,so I got the update and to my surprise the book now has animation. This is nothing new I purchased Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone for the animation alone. Just to help when I read it to my daughter. I still haven’t read Timebound yet but I’m looking forward to it.

Also I binged 11/22/63 on Hulu. it was really good. Very different from the book but still very good.

That’s all for this week. Enjoy your week.

#read #books #scifi #fantasy #horror #amazon #harrypotterandthesorcerersstone #reviews #genre #iamlegend #richardmatheson #americangods #neilgaiman #brothersmajere #timebound #rysawalker #11/22/63 #hulu #sundayreadingupdate

Brothers Majere Review

Brothers Majere

By: Kevin Stein

Published: December 1989

Length: 352 pages

Date Read: February 2018

Series: Dragonlance: Preludes #3

My Rating: ⭐️

“You see, Caramon,” Raistlin said, with a soft sigh, “I think that I am at last beginning to understand.” “I’m glad you are. I don’t understand a damn thing!”<
he quote above pretty much sums up how I feel about this book. If you are familiar with the Dragonlance Chronicles you know that the heroes went their separate ways 5 years before the adventure that took place in the original trilogy. Preludes tells some of what Raistlin and Caramon Majere did in that time. The story starts after Raistlin has completed his test in the Tower of High Sorcery. While his body was damaged he gained great power. The brothers along with the Kender, Earwig Lockpick cousin of Tasslehoff Burrfoot are looking for a job to replenish their empty pockets. They find a post looking for someone to help the town of Mereklar solve the mystery of their missing cats. The city of Mereklar loves its cats. All cats are welcomed there and it’s residence believe that one day their cats will save the world. But lately the cats have gone missing. The brothers and the Kender are hired to solve the mystery and return the cats to the city. But someone in the city doesn’t want the cats to return and are willing to kill to make sure that doesn’t happen.

My Thoughts:<<<
read this book about twenty years ago, but for the life of me I could not remember anything about it. That should of been my first clue. This book was really difficult to get through. It was extremely boring. It's suppose to play out like a mystery but good mystery novels give you small clues and some insight that the protagonist do not have without giving away the story. This book didn't do that. I was lost through the whole thing. I did not have a clue about what was going on. The epilogue at the end tries to explain everything. This will go down as one of my least favorite Dragonlance novels.

#read #books #scifi #fantasy #horror #reviews #genre #brothersmajere #kevinstein #dragonlance #preludes #raistlin #caramon #earwiglockpick #tasslehoffburrfoot

Sunday Reading Update 01/28/2018

nothing really great to report about this week. I’m making leeway with both novels I’m reading. I’m about 63% done with the Brothers Majere and just can’t seem to enjoy it. The story telling is just below average. It tries to play out as a mystery, but a good mystery leaves clues for you to think about and try to figure out. But this book gives you nothing, unless it is and I’m too dumb to see them.

With American Gods I’m at 39% and while I find it interesting and I am enjoying it sometimes I wish it would move a little faster. The one motivation I have to read thru these books is the next one on my TBR list and that is Stephen King’s The Stand. Although who knows with the current flu epidemic going around I might get paranoid.

On the book news front I just found out a fifth book has been written in the Millennium series. For those that are not familiar with that series it is The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo books. I heard the first four in Audiobook form while working a second job that didn’t require much thinking. I’ll have to read this fifth installment. It’s not on my TBR pile yet but I’ll keep an eye on it.

That’s all for my Sunday Reading Update I hope everyone has a great week.

#read #books #scifi #fantasy #horror #reviews #genre #sundayreadingupdate #TBR #brothersmajere #americangods #stephenking #thestand #millennium #thegirlwiththedragontattoo #audiobook