The Magician Review

       The Magician 

Author: Micheal Scott

Published: June 2008/ Delacorte Press

Length: 464 pages 

Series: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel vol. 2

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

The book begins where the previous book left off. At the end of The Alchemyst, Flamels wife Perenelle had been captured. While Flamel, Scathach and the twins, Sophie and Josh Newman were able to escape from the Magician Dee using a Leygate that took them from the United States to Paris. Dee recruits the help of an Italian immortal by the name of Nicholas Machiavelli. Our protagonist now find themselves on the run in Paris and while this is the original home of Flamel, much has changed. He is able to get help in a former student Saint-Germain and his wife Joan of Arc. Through this all they need to find a safe place to rest, time to train Sophie and someone to awaken Josh’s powers all while keeping one step ahead of the enemies who seem to have unlimited resources. 

My Thoughts:

Right off the bat? Not a bad book, but not great either. It seemed like one big chase after another. I found the most interesting character to be Machiavelli. I know he is suppose to be a villain but I feel there is some humanity in him. Not sure how I feel about the third book that should be coming up in my TBR pile. I’m thinking I will at least give it a start but if it’s more of the same thing. I might have to give up on the series. I’ll give it a chance I’ll be optimistic. 

#reviews #themagician #thesectetsoftheimmortalnicholasflamel #nicholasflamel #dee #newman #read #books #scifi #fantasy #horror #reviews #bookblogs #genre #tbr #machiavelli #joanofarc #michealscott

Leave a Reply

